top of page

Should I fix my illustration pattern?

"Should I fix my illustration pattern?"

I always tell my students they can choose any drawing style (pattern).

You can draw cartoony, realistic, or even abstract... Should you stick to one pattern?


I once in a while received a message asking that and I also have the same question to myself over and over again in the past years.

Apparently, this question has been a common issue for a lot of artists for a long time, and the answers you can get from Googling are vary.


  • Don't worry about the pattern, because it doesn't change much from other people's point of view.

  • You should stick to one pattern so that the viewers can easily recognize your art.


But these answers are conflicting and they always confuse me.

I AM worried because I CARE even if others don't care...


I'm asking because I'm not motivated if I'm not satisfied.

And for me, I am not good at sticking to one thing in a long term in general. I like conflicting stuff and I get bored if I stick to one thing for a while.

I wish I was a person who like the same thing forever, but I'm not. For the illustration, the only thing I stick to is the technique - STIPPLING - so far.

In this post, I, have been drawing for like 10 years and an illustrator as one of my profession (source of income) for over 3 years - I can say I'm currently at a level of <a beginner professional illustrator> think about it and compiled answers to the question of whether a Pattern should be fixed. The road to success in illustration is not easy, but I want to enjoy at least.



Should I stick to one illustration style?

To answer this question, it really depends on the stage of your progress.


In this post


  • For beginners who enjoy learning illustration (☜ WE ARE HERE in this class)

  • For intermediate students who may want to make illustration their career in the future (☜ SOME OF YOU ARE HERE in this class)

  • For advanced students who want to do well in illustration (☜ I'm with you! I'm still trying to get here!)


I will think about how you can continue to draw with satisfaction at each stage based on these criteria.

<Beginners> don't need to worry about the pattern!

<Intermediate> illustrators should decide the direction of the pattern

<Advanced> illustrators should brand their patterns.


Final conclusion




bottom of page